David LaPalombara is Professor of Art at Ohio University, and was the Director of the School of Art + Design from 2007 until 2017. LaPalombara received his MFA in Fine Arts from the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, and a BA in Art and Art History, Summa Cum Laude, from Oberlin College. His formal education revealed important connections between his art and the spatially illusionistic painting, sculpture and architecture from the Italian Renaissance and Baroque periods. After receiving his MFA, LaPalombara received a Fulbright Fellowship and a Rome Prize, awarded by the American Academy in Rome, where he worked for three years as a fellow and visiting artist. His work continues to be influenced by his time studying and working in Rome. LaPalombara’s work as an artist incorporates a variety of media, including installation sculpture, photography, and painting. Although his choice of materials is diverse, the art he creates examines fundamental ideas of spatial perception. At the outset, he seeks to engage his audience in a physical and intellectual understanding of space by manipulating perspective, adjusting horizon line vanishing points, and experimenting with color and light. Working in nature also is an important expressive theme that infuses much of his art. LaPalombara has exhibited his work in the United States, Canada, and Italy. His art is included in the Allen Memorial Art Museum, Kennedy Museum of Art, Gund Collection, Elizabeth Noyce Collection, and numerous other private collections. He is a contributor to City Secrets: Rome, 2nd Edition, and published a review of Joel Sternfeld’s Campagna Romana, in Aperture. LaPalombara was recently elected to the Board of Directors of the National Council of Arts Administrators. He also is a long time member of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP), where he served as President of the Antioch College AAUP Chapter, completed a term as President of the Ohio Conference AAUP, and most recently served on the Ohio Conference

Executive Board of Trustees as the Non Collective-Bargaining Council Secretary/Treasurer.